Photos   All Photos

2015-16 State Recognition Events

Nationwide  |  May 01, 2016

Photo 1 of 14   Previous Photo   Next Photo
Gina Benz state recognition event

Gina Benz (SD '15) meets with state legislators and receives her Milken Award obelisk at a luncheon in her honor. Later that day, Benz and Sarah Lutz, South Dakota's 2016 Teacher of the Year, were recognized on the Senate and House floors of the South Dakota Capitol during a legislative session.

Front row, from left: Sarah Lutz, 2016 South Dakota teacher of the year; Gina Benz (SD '15). Back row, from left: South Dakota State Representative Jacqueline Sly; South Dakota State Representative Mary Duvall; South Dakota State Senator Jeff Monroe; South Dakota State Representative Jim Stalzer; South Dakota State Senator Deb Soholt.

Benz, who teaches both regular and AP English, was surprised with her Milken Educator Award at Roosevelt High School in Sioux Falls on October 20, 2015. See the photos and video from her emotional notification.

Photo courtesy of South Dakota Department of Education.

In this photo:  Gina Benz (SD '15)

All photos should be credited to "Milken Family Foundation" unless otherwise noted.

Download a high-resolution version of this image